Buried

What was it like, dear?

That night we were both here

Sunset fading

Dim light on the dirt

When you reached down

And you pulled me up from the Earth

 

I was the last here

Fading pink among green

I never expected

Someone would take pity

On me

 

I was wilted

When you found me

But you took me home anyway

Something I can never

Expect to repay

 

Your hands gentle

Scooping into the dirt

Brown under fingernails

A glow of kindness

On your face

 

My new home

In front of a window

So I can look out

Towards the dense forest

Where I was once

Withering

Fading

Dying

Here with my window

Here with you

I can grow

I can blossom

I can heal

Knowing you will be here for me

To make sure I never fade

The way I used to

 

Every day, every week

New family comes through the door

In your hands

Brown with the dirt

Orange, white, yellow, red

To join me

Looking out onto the world

 

They come through the door

Looking far brighter

Than I was when I arrived

It makes me feel

Special

Like I was an exception

To some unwritten rule

Do they feel that too?

Sitting next to me

At our window

 

Still

I will not ask

Why you came for me

When I was hopeless

Just know that I think

Of that night

Every night

When the moon shines

In the same way

It did for us


Photo by Mat Reding on Unsplash

Leave a comment